2018 Kerlan Award: Jennifer Holm and Matthew Holm

Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm will be accepting

the 43rd Annual Kerlan Award on Tuesday, March 27, 2018 .

About the Kerlan Award

The Kerlan Award is given annually by the Friends of the Kerlan Collection in recognition of singular attainments in the creation of children’s literature and in appreciation for generous donation of unique resources to the Kerlan Collection for the study of children’s literature.

Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm, siblings who have published novels separately. Jennifer is a three-time Newbery Honor recipient for Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise; and Matthew co-wrote Marvin and the Mothswith Jonathan Follett) and have collaborated on a number of children’s books series. Their first joint project was the graphic-novel series Babymouse, starring a headstrong young mouse with messy whiskers and a wild imagination.

Resources for teachers

Read a terrific interview with them  at Publisher Weekly by Sally Lodge, June 29, 2017

Matthew has created a power point on using graphic format books in teaching practice.

Kerlan Award Ceremony Information

Where: Elmer L. Andersen Library, Room 120
When: March 27, 2017
Reception: 5:30 p.m. Program 6:00 p.m.
Book Signing to follow
Books will be sold by The Red Balloon Bookshop

Parking and Directions

Reservations request by March 16

To receive this information in alternative formats or for disability accommodations, please contact Lisa Von Drasek at 612-624-4817 or lvondras@umn.edu. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. © 2018 by the Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.

Elmer L. Andersen Library 222 21st Avenue South Minneapolis, MN 55455


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here